Hotel Castello, Italy

Stay in Ayrton Senna’s last hotel room.

Last week i managed to visit the last hotel room occupied by Ayrton Senna. This is suite 200 at Castello Hotel at:

Viale delle Terme 1010⁄B
Castel S. Pietro Terme
I-40024 Bologna
Tel +39051943509
Fax +39051944573
info@hotelcastello.com

This is the hotel room Mentioned  in the book “Ayrton Senna the legend grows” by Christopher Hilton and with that in mind i flew to Bologna to seek it out. I emailed the hotel asking for this room three times and they seemed to ignore me, so i booked a normal room on Booking.com and when i turned up i asked about Ayrton and the hotel room. The man behind reception then told me about the room and yes he spent his last night in this very room. I asked if i could stay in it and he told me i could the following night.
Many people each year go to Gracelands to visit the home of Elvis Presley but you would never be able to sleep the night in the room Elvis slept in. I visited this hotel and for a fee of about 140 euros, the following night i got to sleep in the actual suite Ayrton spent his final nights. For this i would have been prepared to pay a 1000 euros. Ayrton’s Portugal home is on the market as mentioned in this blog and one website has it listed under rentals. I emailed the rental company about a weeks rent and was expecting to be quoted £5000 to which i would have been a bit pissed of but would have paid it to stay in his ex house. You can imagine my shock when the rental company came back with a demand for £20,000 for one weeks rent. Yes you read that correctly, twenty thousand UK pounds for one week. For 140 euros i got to sleep in a hotel room that was described in a book 18 years ago and the description matches perfectly what the hotel looks like today, even down to the picture on the wall with four Chinese like scenes on it.

Mclaren and Williams both used Hotel Castello as their base, Ayrton had Suite 200. I have included as many pictures as possible of this hotel room to share with readers what it looks like. I also urge Senna fans to take the opportunity to stay at his hotel as for me it was a great experience to be able to sleep in a room the best formula one driver ever, had slept in.

Sir Frank Williams had Suite 100 directly below Ayrtons and Ron Dennis had suite 300 directly above Ayrtons. When i spoke to the person at reception he asked if i had a camera and brought out a model of a McLaren that Ron Dennis had bought for the owners son as a present when he was born 18 years ago.

Easyjet charged me £40 each way even in the summer period from Gatwick to Bologna. From here i took a hire car at a cost of £116 for two days, first to the Maggiore Hospital where Ayrton was taken after the crash, i then went to Imola to see his memorial and the crash site which took about 40 minutes from the airport, then went back to the hotel which took another 20 minutes. I spent the following day in the hotel and the swimming pool next door then walked the Imola circuit the next day.

There is a video on You tube of Ayrton at the hotel on his final night, which shows him being photographed with a couple being married that night at the hotel in the reception. You can see from this video and my pictures that this hotel has not changed a bit which is great for Senna fans.

Hotel Castello, último hotel de Ayrton Senna. Na semana passada eu consegui visitar o último quarto de hotel ocupado por Ayrton Senna. Esta é a suite 200 no Hotel Castello no endereço abaixo. Viale delle Terme 1010⁄B Castel S. Pietro Terme eu 40024 Bolonha Tel +39051943509 Fax +39051944573 info@hotelcastello.com este é o quarto de hotel, enumerado no artigo “Últimas 96 horas de Ayrton Senna por Dylan Jones” que consta neste blog e uma vez que você ler este artigo que você vai entender o quão importante é este quarto de hotel. Eu também li em detalhes sobre isso no livro “Ayrton Senna a lenda cresce” por Christopher Hilton e com isso em mente, que eu voei para Bolonha para procurá-la. I emailed hotel pedindo este quarto três vezes e eles pareciam ignorar-me, então eu reservei um quarto normal no Booking.com e quando eu virei perguntei sobre Ayrton e o quarto de hotel. O homem por trás da recepção, em seguida, me disse sobre o quarto e sim ele passou sua última noite neste quarto muito. Perguntei se eu poderia ficar nele e ele me disse que eu poderia na noite seguinte. Muitas pessoas a cada ano vão para Gracelands para visitar a casa de Elvis Presley, mas nunca seria capaz de dormir a noite no quarto que Elvis dormia. Visitei esse hotel e por uma taxa de cerca de 140 euros, na noite seguinte, que eu tenho que dormir na suite real Ayrton passou suas noites finais. Para isso eu teria sido preparado para pagar uma de 1000 euros. Casa de Portugal de Ayrton está no mercado, como mencionado neste blog, e tem um site listado no aluguel. I emailed a locadora sobre um aluguel de semanas e estava esperando para ser citado £5000 que eu teria sido um pouco chateado de mas teria pago para permanecer em seu ex casa. Você pode imaginar minha surpresa quando a locadora voltou com uma demanda de £20.000 para um aluguel de semanas. Sim, você leu que corretamente, UK de vinte mil libras por uma semana. Por 140 euros, eu tenho que dormir em um hotel de quarto que foi descrito em um livro há 18 anos e a descrição combina perfeitamente o que o hotel parece hoje, até mesmo o quadro na parede com quatro chineses como cenas sobre ele. Imagens de paisagem chinesa pendurado na parede da sala 200 como descrito no livro de Senna “cresce” a lenda”por Christopher Hilton. McLaren e Williams usaram Hotel Castello como sua base, Ayrton tinha 200 Suite. Incluí fotos como muitos como possível deste quarto de hotel para compartilhar com os leitores o que parece. Exorto também fãs de Senna para aproveitar a oportunidade para ficar em seu hotel, quanto a mim foi uma grande experiência para ser capaz de dormir em um quarto em que o melhor piloto de fórmula um, nunca, tinha dormido. Último quarto do Ayrton Senna cama de casal, Suite 200 Hotel Castello Imola. Suite 200 Hotel Castello. Último quarto de hotel do Ayrton Senna rádio incorporado à cabeceira. Suite 200 Hotel Castello Imola. Último quarto de hotel do Ayrton Senna rádio incorporado à cabeceira. Suite 200 Hotel Castello Imola. Ayrton Senna última hotel quarto ensuite mesa de café e área de estar. Hotel última de na Ayrton Senna Suite 200, área de recepção. Hotel Castello Imola. Sir Frank Williams tinha Suite 100 diretamente abaixo Ayrtons e Ron Dennis tinha suite 300 diretamente acima Ayrtons. Quando falei com a pessoa na recepção ele perguntou se eu tinha uma câmera e trouxe um modelo de uma McLaren que Ron Dennis tinha comprado para o filho de proprietários como um presente quando ele nasceu há 18 anos. Um presente para o filho de proprietários do hotel há 18 anos, de Ron Dennis quando o filho nasceu.EasyJet me cobrado £40 cada maneira mesmo no período de Verão de Gatwick para Bolonha. De aqui tomei um carro alugado a um custo de £116 por dois dias, para o Hospital Maggiore onde Ayrton foi tirada após o acidente, então eu fui a primeira Imola para ver seu memorial e do local do acidente que levou cerca de 40 minutos do aeroporto, então voltei para o hotel que teve mais de 20 minutos. Passei o dia seguinte no hotel e ao lado da piscina, em seguida, caminhou o circuito de Imola no dia seguinte. Há um vídeo no You tube de Ayrton no hotel na sua noite final, que mostra ele sendo fotografada com um casal sendo casado naquela noite no hotel na recepção. Você pode ver este vídeo e minhas fotos que este hotel não mudou um pouco o que é ótimo para os fãs de Senna. O homem da recepção também me disse onde restaurante favorito Ayrton estava na cidade e infelizmente esta foi fechada por dois dias que eu estava em Castel S. Pietro Terme. Eu pretendo ir para lá no próximo mês e vai colocar um artigo acima quando eu paguei a ele uma visita e fotos. O restaurante é:
Trattoria Romagnola
Trattoria Romagnola. Restaurante favorito de Ayrton quando ele estava correndo em Imola.
P. Acquaderni, 8, Castel San Pietro Terme, Itália

6 thoughts on “Stay in Ayrton Senna’s last hotel room.

  1. Thank you for sharing these images. I would like to visit the room one day, but I don’t think I could sleep in it … my mind would be too active 😐

  2. This blog is a wonderful read and it is absolutely amazing the places you have visited already. It must be a magical experience!

    From one Senna fan to another – I salute you!

  3. What a fantastic site/blog. A real fan’s tribute for sure. Thanks so much for sharing. I’ve often dreamed about visiting all the sites on this blog after reading Andrew Longmore’s Times piece and of course the various Christopher Hilton books (yes, I’ve read them all!). The hotel, the Romagnolo restaurant, Imola Circuit and Quinta do Lago; wow, you’re so lucky to have visited them all; I’m very envious! Who knows, maybe one day however, in the meantime, your blog has more than filled that void. I used to travel to the GPs and saw him race many times, including twice at Imola, in 1989 (the controversial race with Prost) and 1991. Happier times; fantastic times. I was also lucky enough to visit McLaren’s old Woking HQ in 1995 and stood by his 1993 Adelaide winning car and got to stand in the room where he tossed a coin with Ron Dennis and lost $1m! Would love to return to Imola to just walk round the place as you appear to have done. Your photos are terrific and very atmospheric; it looks the loneliest place in the world now. The closest I get (!) is visiting the Jim Clark room in Dunns where Senna visited with Sid Watkins in 1990, I think it was? Sid used to live there and Senna visited nearby Loretto School (Clark’s old school). I’m sure that this gets a mention in one of Hilton’s books. I look forward to returning to this blog more in the future. Huge thanks again for the best Senna site on the web by a long way. All the very best to you and thanks so much again for sharing.

    Saudade!

    Nick W

    PS – 20 years ago next year – a special anniversary.

  4. Phantastic to see where Ayrton stayed ,last night.I had visit his grave on the 1 of may 2013 a very special Moment for me with the Brazilian fans on this day.But this Hotel and the Restaurant as well, his House in Faro i will go in the Future. Muito Obrigado para sua Informacoes
    Ayrton Senna sempe !!!

Leave a Reply

